Log in
Log in

Welcome to ATEA

American Technical Education Association

2020 Winners

Western Dakota Tech Winners

1.       Cody Horan, Electrical Trades

2.       Gabe Maruani, Environmental Engineering

3.       Seth Nowak, Electrical Trades

4.       Cody Runge, Environmental Engineering

5.       Christin Wiebe, Computer Aided Design

The 2nd prize check of $1000 will be divided 5 ways so $200 per student

The instructors are:

Bryan Mitchell, Electrical Trades Program, 

Dr. Kerry Murray

  • Home
  • ATEA 3D-Futures Competition 2020 and 2019 Winners

Presentation of the 3rd Place Prize checks to the Chippewa Valley Technical College, Eau Claire, Mechanical Design students, They filed for a patent on May 21, 2019 for their idea presented in the ATEA 3 D Futures Competition.ATEA 3 D Competition, Power Transmission Infrastructure Tool.

l-R Dean Jeff Sullivan, CVTC Dean of Sklilled Trades and Engineering Programs,  Dr. Sandra Krebsbach, ATEA Executive Director, Team members: Derek Ortner, David Smith, Zachary Gunderson, Ethan Palmer, and Joshua Bartlett, student who recorded the video, and Joseph Vydrazal Instructor Mechanical Design Program

ATEA 3 D Futures Competition 3rd Place winner filed their idea for a patent, Zack Gunderson, David Palmer, 

ATEA 3 D Futures Competition sponsored by the maker of Solid Works, Dassault Systemes, Waltham MA.  ATEA Board member Al Bunshaft, SVP Dassault Systemes, supported this first ever competition for ATEA with $3000 total in prize money for the students; $1500 first prize, $1000 2nd prize and $500 third prize.  The panel of six judges 3 deans, 1 global academic leader, 1 executive director of a center of excellence in a NW US state, and 1 executive director of a national certification program. The criteria was developed with input from the competition chairs Dr. Bryan Albrecht and Mary Kaye Bredeson and members of the panel.

1st Prize Kara Learning Mechanism, Chippewa Valley Technical College,

River Falls Wisconsin

L-R: Mahmood Lahroodi, Instructor of Mechanical Design, Team Kara Learning Mechancism: Franklin Lorzano, Rick Heuer, Andrew Boster II,  and Jonathan Knapp.

Winning video:Kara Learning Mechanism 1st Prize ATEA 3 D Futures Competition

2nd Prize Robotic Arm and Gripper, Chippewa Valley Technical College, River Falls, Wisconsin

L-R Mahmood Lahroodi, Instructor, Mechanical Design, Andrew Boster II, Alex Husfleon, and Eric Wolle 

Robotic Arm and Gripper ATEA 3 D Futures 2nd Prize

ATEA 3 D Futures Competition prize sponsor Dassault Systemes 1st prize $1500, 2nd $1000 and 3rd $500

Al Bunshaft, SVP Dassault Systemes Global Initiatives visits Chippewa Valley Technical College to meet with 3 D Futures Competition faculty of the winning teams. Dassault Systemes was the industry sponsor of the cash prizes totaling $3000. 

L-R. Jeff Sullivan, Dean of Applied Technology Programs, Al Bunshaft SVP Dassault Systemes, Mahmood Lahrooti, faculty Mechanical Design Program CVTC Riverfalls1st and 2nd Prize winners and Joe Vydrazal, faculty 3rd  place prize winner.

Third Place Winner files for a patent!

American Technical Education Association

premier association for the post secondary technical educator, with emphasis on professional development.

Dunwoody College of Technology
818 Dunwoody Blvd.
Minneapolis, MN 55403

Dr. Sandra Krebsbach, Executive Director

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software