Log in
Log in

American Technical Education Association

  • Home
  • Award Winners 2019

The American Technical Education Association annually recognizes outstanding performance in 4 areas: student, teacher, program and business.  Nominations are open to all ATEA institutional members. The judges are ATEA Trustees: Dr. Shawn Mackey, Chelle Travis, Adrian San Miguel, Dr. Betty Reynard, and Brooks Jacobsen Chair. 

A South Dakota Sweep!

Outstanding Technical Student 2019

Dani Hersrud, Associate of Applied Science in Surgical Technology Program, Western Dakota Technical Institute, Rapid City, South Dakota

Dani will graduate May 2019 as a Surgical Technician.  She also holds a Bachelor of Science in Occupational Education which she earned in 2010 from Wayland Baptist University, San Antonio, Texas.  Army Medic US Army, San Antonio, Texas April 2002-2005. former Data Technician, JSW Diversified, San Antonio, June 2011-2012 responsible for installing data lines, phone lines an fiber-optic cables, only female technician.

Congratulations Dani

Outstanding Technical Teacher Award Winner

Jade Hollister, Surgical Technician Instructor, Western Dakota Tech, Rapid City, South Dakota

First ever ATEA Outstanding Awards to student and teacher in a program, Dani Hersrud and Jade Hollister

Outstanding Technical Program

Electronic Systems, Robotics and Electronics, Lake Area Technical Institute, Watertown, South Dakota

L-R: Brooks Jacobson, Program Supervisor and Instructor, Tim Moes Instructor, Mathew Weirnzel instructor, Bob Poor, Instructor,  nd Dr. Bryan Albrecht, ATEA Board of Trustee President

Nomination document:2019 ATEA Outstanding Technical Program Award Nomination Form Lake Area Tech Institute.pdf

Silver Star of Excellence Award

jointly awarded by ATEA and the National Technical Honor Society

Western Dakota Technical Institute nominated Regional Health of Rapid City for the Silver Star of Excellence Award for a business meeting best practices of supporting technical education through internships or clinicals, state of the art equipment, faculty access to training and shadowing and placement.

Jill Tice, Director of Quality, Safety and Risk Management, accepting for Regional Health of Rapid City, South Dakota

L-R, Brooks Jacobson ATEA Board member and Chair of the Awards Committee, Jill Tice Regional Health and Dr. Bryan Albrecht, President of ATEA Board of Trustees and President and CEO of Gateway Technical College, Kenosha WI

American Technical Education Association

premier association for the post secondary technical educator, with emphasis on professional development.

Dunwoody College of Technology
818 Dunwoody Blvd.
Minneapolis, MN 55403

Dr. Sandra Krebsbach, Executive Director

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software